Skip to main content


Awards and Recognition
The club is only as good as its volunteers and we are fortunate to have many. In recognition of those whose dedicated service and good sportsmanship stands out most amongst their peers, the Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club salutes these volunteers annually at our Awards Banquet. We are proud to present our past winners here. We thank them for their contributions which have helped make the Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club a club to be proud of.

Alan Adema

Distinguished Service Award

The “Distinguished Service Award” is presented from time to time by the Commodore of the Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club to a person in the club that through their dedication, contribution to the racing program, and operation of the club, has enhanced the Club’s ability to serve its members to a greater degree. This person shall possess an unselfish willingness to get involved in the furtherance of the purposes for which the Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club has been organized.

2023 Alan Adema

2022 Mark Monica

2021 Diana Augspurger

2020 Ken Bienko Jr

2019 Gregory Toole

2018 Melanie Stone

2017 Rob Daley

2016 Thomas Gaffney

2015 June Crawford & Barbara Berry

2014 Patrick Weisansal II

2013 Diana Augspurger

2012 Sue Robinson

2011 Jack Kitrenos

2010 Diane Quart

2009 Bob Gillman

2008 Flo Vach

2007 Tom Lewin

2006 Tom Nowak

2005 John Pettis

2004 Dave Regnet

2003 Edgar Priebe

2002 Dave Fowler

2001 Patricia Bowles

2000 Jim Tepas

1999 Mike Brady

1998 Patty Michalski

1997 Pam Obersheimer

1996 Rick Hooper

1995 Bette Blum

1994 Carl Millerscheon

1993 Chuck Chilcott

1992 Bob and Joanne Ihrig

Duke Mueller

Chris Eisenhardt and Larry Beck Crew Award

The Chris Eisenhardt and Larry Beck Crew Award is presented to a sailor that has proven themselves an invaluable member of their crew and an asset to the club. The winning candidate must:

– Be a member of the Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club

– Regularly sail in Tuesday and/or Wednesday night races

– Demonstrate a Corinthian spirit

– Demonstrate a love of the sport of sailing

– Demonstrate a commitment to his or her boat and crew

– Is a valuable sailor, coaching and mentoring new crew members

– Actively participate in repair, maintenance, and sailing of the boat

– Perform multiple functions on a sailboat

– Be dedicated to expanding and refining their skills

– Actively encourage others to enjoy the sport of sailing

2023 Connor Godfrey

2022 Brian Short



2019 Roy Sasiadek

2018 Joel Rait

2017 Peggy Parker

2015 Mark Kief

2014 Patrick Weisensal II

2013 Alan Welka

2012 Doug Bienko

2011 Jim Brownell

2010 Pat Augello

Duke Mueller

Sportsman of the Year Award

The “Sportsman of the Year Award” is presented annually to the participant in the Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club who, through his or her dedication to the sport of sailing, encourages and develops the Corinthian Spirit of yacht racing. This person demonstrates conduct becoming a sportsman involving fair and honest rivalry, courteous relations, and graceful acceptance of results.

2023 Charles "Duke" Mueller

2022 Laura Redding

2021 Howard Wilson

2020 Darren Wright

2019 Sandy Kondziela

2018 Ted Johnson

2017 Mark Stoddard

2016 Tom Nowak

2015 Adam Masters

2014 Jim Kulwicki

2013 Jack Kitrenos

2012 Jim and Sandy Kondziela

2011 David Cady

2010 Tom Tepas

2009 Jerry Krzesinski

2008 Barry Bistls

2007 Nori Glass

2006 Bill Graf

2005 Donald Seitz

2004 Mike Seitz

2003 Charlene Romanello

2002 Robert Blow

2001 Bill Bredenberg

2000 Charlie Obersheimer

1999 Dave Johnson

1998 James W. McKinnon

1997 Ardrey Manning

1996 Raymond Massey

1995 Richard Walker

1994 Dick Ham

1993 The Mayer Family

1992 Bill Denall

1991 Bill Johnson

1990 Pam Obersheimer

1989 Douglas Hooper

1988 Chuck Chilcott

1987 Robert Ihrig


Duke Mueller

The Trident Award

A trident is a three pronged spear often related to Neptune. Of course it was chosen for its’ nautical symbolism but also because this award will always go to someone who has provided a three pronged contribution to the club. It acknowledges lifelong service through endless volunteerism in multiple club operations, consistently making the success of the club a priority, and leveraging experience to support fellow club members in the enjoyment of the club and racing. The Trident is to be coveted as the club’s top award and as such, may not be given every year. So, when it does appear, you will know that the winner has exceeded all expectations of a club member.

2019 Chuck Chilcott

2018 Craig Wittmann

2015 Rick Lenard