About

Team
bg-image

Racing Since 1977

Who We Are

The Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club is the center of racing on Lake Erie in Buffalo, NY.

Established in 1977, the club is 501(c)3 non-profit association operated by a volunteer board of directors who reflect the wishes of the membership. The BHSC does not have a clubhouse or docks. Their only asset is the committee boat that oversees the race course.

The club focus is the race program run on Tuesday and Wednesday nights in addition to weekend regattas. Educational programs are run throughout the year as the club views training as the lynch pin to having a strong race program. The race program consists of multiple fleets including main and jib, spinnaker, a women’s series, multi-hull, single and double handed races and long distance, overnight races.

Club membership classifications include boat owner and crew member. Membership renews annually. Educational programs are generally free with membership. Members are encouraged to volunteer for all facets of club administration including working on the board of directors, assisting on the committee boats, managing regatta parties and mentoring novice sailors. The membership averages around 350 people with 65-75 boats registered to race annually.

The Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club supports the initiatives and rules of US Sailing, the governing body of sailboat racing in the United States.

Features

Board of Directors

Commodore:
Jim Kondziela- poisonivy406@verizon.net

Vice-Commodore:
Jason Redding - reddingj@hotmail.com

Past Commodore:
Peter "Louis" Johnson - louis.johnson@northsails.com

Treasurer:
Pam Krieger - pamkrieger@yahoo.com

Secretary:
Jaclyn Mazzone- jaclyn.mazzone@gmail.com

Entertainment Director:
Mary Bridget Johnson - jeephayes515@gmail.com

Handicapper:
Rob Daley – rpdaley57@yahoo.com

China Light Director:
Jennifer Klock – jennifer.klock@gmail.com

Membership and Program Director:
Diana Augspurger - diana.augspurger@gmail.com

Race Director:
Tom Lewin – TomLewin2020@gmail.com

Newsletter:
Laura Redding- laura.k.redding@gmail.com

Protest Committee:
Tom Nowak – Nowakrad@aol.com

Website:
Diana Augspurger - diana.augspurger@gmail.com

1977-78: Jerry Malachowski
1979-80: Tom Johnston
1981-82: Bob Barnhart
1983 : Tom Meyer
1984-86: Charlie DeRose
1987-88: Bill Johnson
1989-90: Bob Gradwell
1991 : Mike Sendor
1992 : Bill Denall
1993 : Tom Lewin
1994 : Bette Blum
1995 : Peter Raines
1996 : Paul Johnson
1997 : Bob Hutchison
1998 : Dick Ham
1999 : Jim Franzek
2000 : Bill Bredenberg
2001 : Sue Robinson
2002 : Dave Regnet
2003 : Don Brennan
2004 : Rick Lenard
2005 : Jack Kitrenos
2006 : Mike Seitz
2007 : Bill Markel
2008 : Rick Lenard
2009 : Craig Wittmann
2010 : Jim Kondziela
2011 : Mike Barry
2012 : Craig Wittmann
2013 : Joe Roetter
2014 : Robert Adler
2015-16 : Tom Hunt
2017 : Diana Augspurger
2018 : Craig Wittman
2019 : Diane Quart
2020 : Peter "Louis" Johnson

Gallery

Gallery

Our Photos & Videos

Blimey lee snow crow's nest rutters.